Visa Liberalisation Agreements

This card is used for reference purposes only. The rules in force on visas are laid down in Regulation No 539/2001. The names used and the presentation of the material on this map do not imply the expression of any opinion of the European Union on the legal status of any country, territory, city or territory or its authorities, or on the delimitation of its borders or borders. Compliance with all benchmarks will enable the Commission to submit to the European Parliament and the Council, taking into account the general relations between the EU and Ukraine, a proposal to lift the visa requirement for short-term Ukrainian citizens, by amending Regulation (EC) No 539/2001 (such an amendment should be limited to holders of biometric passports, issued in accordance with ICAO standards). In the light of such a proposal, the Commission services will also take into account the potential effects of visa liberalisation, in particular on the basis of the evolution of the visa refusal rate, the number of Ukrainian citizens who refuse to enter the EU`s external border or who are illegally apprehended in the EU, the number of return decisions, etc. In June 2012, the EU opened a visa dialogue with Georgia and an action plan on visa liberalisation was presented in early 2013. On 9 March 2016, the European Commission presented a proposal to allow Georgian citizens to travel to the Schengen area without a visa. The agreement provides for visa waiver for EU citizens and Georgian citizens for a period of stay of 90 days over a period of 180 days. It amends Regulation (EC) No 539/2001, which lists the third countries whose nationals must hold a visa to cross the external borders and the third countries whose nationals are exempt from that requirement. The exploratory phase of the EU-Ukraine Visa Dialogue, opened in October 2008, provided an initial assessment of the relevant factors of the long-term objective of visa liberalisation.

Between December 2008 and May 2009, a first round of expert meetings was held on the four blocks of relevant factors identified in the terms of reference for the dialogue: document security, including biometrics; illegal immigration, including readmission; public order and public security; and external relations.